Plenty more fish in the sea…

Here’s a quick post about an idea I had a while ago. My sketchbook is full of new font concepts which often don’t get very far; I’ll sometimes start with the letter A and only get as far as B before realising it won’t work.

In this example, I attempted a ‘fish eye’ typeface. There are a few letters which look pretty funky, but overall I just don’t think this is ever going to become an accomplished typeface. When you see a few ‘o’s together, oooo, the surrounding white space is balanced in an uncomfortable way; these letters are never going to fit together beautifully, nor is the negative space going to look correct.

As ever, I love to hear what you guys think; please let me know if you think any of these letter look okay, if there’s any in particular you hate, or if you’ve had a go at this style yourself.

3 thoughts on “Plenty more fish in the sea…

  1. i do like the h – the perspective works well. (the horizontal line in the h)
    giving it a warped, bubble look
    maybe that would work more – e.g. the ‘s’ looks flat somehow
    well anyway, it could work, thats my 2 cents 😉

  2. Love the idea! as a quilter I´d like to be the tester of your creations. This font is another brilliant idea for a typographic quilt.

Leave a Reply

