Wrought&Bee

Here are a couple of things from my second year. The ‘Wrought’ typeface started purely as a doodle, and this was as far as it went. I had forgotten about it, but now can see that it is very alike to the typeface I’m currently working on, in that it is a Didone style with lots of swirls. The name came about when a friend said that it looked a bit like wrought iron gates.

The second set of images are for my Animalphabet project again; this time, a Bee typeface. Believe it or not, I did have a good search at the time and couldn’t find a very similar hexagon typeface. It was just a quick experiment; I like the idea of the letters tessellating.

To display my Animalphabet typefaces, I wrote my own pangram:
You have zero attempts to bargain with a fox who wields a
screwdriver. Never question him, joke with him, or pay by cheque.

7 thoughts on “Wrought&Bee

    • What a lovely comment, thank you! I certainly haven’t mastered it, but I do dedicate a LOT of my time to it! The thing I always suggest to people is to pick a font, make it large on your computer screen and then copy it out, very carefully. It really makes you notice a lot of things about it that you wouldn’t have otherwise, and it’s where I get a lot of inspiration from.

      • A very good advice, I’ll do that. I can really see the advantages, since it allows you to really reflect. When I attended school, we often talked about what works and what doesn’t work with typography, but rarely why things works, which should be equally important.

      • So true! As with any design subject, it’s tricky to know where to start and what to do! Good luck on your typography, your blog looks great so I look forward to seeing any results! (-:

      • So very true. Thank you very much. 😀 I’ll sink my teeth into it as soon as I can find the time for it…the downside of having too many things to do.

Leave a Reply

